One to watch: Can SDLP hold off Sinn Féin challenge?

Profile: East Londonderry, its official title, is one of the most scenic electoral battlegrounds, taking in much of the Causeway Coast including the seaside resorts of Portrush and Portstewart.

Despite being a predominantly unionist constituency, Sinn Féin's Caoimhe Archibald topped the poll for first preferences in 2017 and is seeking re-election.

One of the incumbent DUP MLAs, George Robinson, has retired from politics having represented the area since 2003, but the party is expected to retain both of its seats.

SDLP stalwart John Dallat, a long standing Assembly member for the area, died two years ago and was replaced by Cara Hunter, a local councillor who is fighting her first Assembly election.

Last time around, the SDLP relied on transfers from the Ulster Unionists and Alliance to keep it ahead of Sinn Féin's second candidate.

Independent Unionist Claire Sugden, a former Stormont justice minister, was co-opted to the Assembly in 2014 following the death of Ulster Unionist David McClarty and was then elected in 2016 and 2017.

The consensus is that a change to the line up is unlikely.

2017 Assembly election: 2 DUP, 1 SF, 1 SDLP, 1 IND Unionist

2017 First preference share:
DUP 34.0%
SF 26.0%
IND Unionist, Claire Sugden 11.3%,
SDLP 7.9%
UUP 7%
Alliance 4.4%

Seats Available: 5

Number of candidates: 16


Caoimhe Archibald, Sinn Féin

Jordan Armstrong, TUV

Maurice Bradley, DUP

Gemma Brolly, Aontú

Mark Coulson, Green Party (NI)

Cara Hunter, SDLP

Chris McCaw, Alliance Party

Kathleen McGurk, Sinn Féin

Amy Merron, People Before Profit Alliance

Niall Murphy, Independent

Stephanie Quigley, Independent

Alan Robinson, DUP

Billy Stewart, Independent

Claire Sugden, Independent

Russell Watton, PUP

Darryl Wilson, UUP