RTÉ News has taken home three gold awards at the 2021 IMRO Radio Awards, amid 11 top prizes for the national broadcaster.

RTÉ's Morning Ireland was awarded gold in the News Programme - Full Service category for its coverage of the cyber attack on the HSE, with RTÉ's This Week scooping bronze.

RTÉ's Justin McCarthy was named News Broadcaster of the Year, with News Reporter of the Year going to Drivetime's John Cooke.

The Documentary award went to RTÉ's Documentary on One for 'A Very Irish Coup', while 'Joey Dunlop - King of the Road' on RTÉ Radio 1 won the Gold award in the Sports Programme - Full Servce category.

There were also awards for the Ray D'Arcy Show and Liveline on RTÉ Radio 1 in the Magazine Programme and Interactive Speech Programme categories.

RTÉ's Gunplot, which tells the story of the 1970s arms trial, was the overall winner in the Podcast category.

The winners for the 2021 event were revealed during the virtual event, hosted by comedian and broadcaster Dermot Whelan.

Over 2,000 people logged on to watch the ceremony, which saw RTÉ's George Hamilton inducted to the IMRO Hall of Fame, along with Declan Meehan, Patricia Messinger and Stephen Clements (posthumously).

The special award for Outstanding Achievement was presented to Learning Waves, the training provider for the independent commercial radio sector in Ireland.

BBC Radio Ulster was named as Full Service Station of the Year, while WLR FM took the top prize for Local Station of the Year with Music Station of the Year going to Spin 1038.

Chair of the IMRO Radio Awards committee, Chris Doyle, said: "2021 is the biggest year on record for entries, so thank you very much to everyone who entered, it is great to see such enthusiasm and passion for the content being produced across the island.

"Radio continues to show its power, flexibility and importance to the Irish people this year and while we continue to keep listeners informed and educated, it is brilliant coming out of the pandemic to hear how we entertain and lift listeners lives."

The Radio Awards Committee comprises of 12 members representing all sectors of licensed commercial and public radio on the island of Ireland - RTÉ, BBC NI, and the independent commercial radio sectors in both the Republic and Northern Ireland.