The Government has announced its St Patrick's Day programme for 2019, with the Taoiseach and his ministers travelling far and wide to represent the country abroad.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar will visit once again Washington DC, with a government minister visiting every EU capital.

There will also be representation in the Middle East, the Americas, and the Asia Pacific region over the St Patrick's Day period, as the Government pushes its claims for a seat on the UN Security Council from 2021.

The Department of Foreign Affairs said visits have been planned for Wellington, New Zealand, and Vancouver, Canada, where Ireland opened new diplomatic missions last year.

Ministerial visits have also been planned for Colombia's capital Bogota, Santiago in Chile, Mumbai in India, and Los Angeles ahead of the opening of new Irish embassies and consulates in the cities this year.

Who is going where this St Patrick's Day?

France, Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands, Paris, Berlin, Brussels, the Hague - Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Simon Coveney 

United Kingdom - Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure & Reform, Paschal Donohoe

Argentina and Chile - Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government, Eoghan Murphy

Spain and Portugal - Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Michael Creed

New York - Minister for Justice and Equality, Charlie Flanagan

San Francisco, Los Angeles - Minister for Health, Simon Harris

Italy and Malta - Minister for Employment Affairs and Social Protection, Regina Doherty

Finland and China - Minister for Education and Skills, Joe McHugh

Cyprus, Lebanon and Jordan - Minister for Defence, Paul Kehoe

Japan and South Korea - Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Josepha Madigan 

Australia, New Zealand and Singapore - Minister for Business, Enterprise and Innovation, Heather Humphreys 

Canada, Toronto and Ottawa - Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Richard Bruton

United Arab Emirates - Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, Shane Ross 

South Africa, Namibia and Botswana - Minister for Children and Youth Affairs, Katherine Zappone 

Denmark and Sweden - Minister of State for European Affairs, Helen McEntee

Boston and Pennsylvania - Government Chief Whip and Minister of State for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the Islands, Seán Kyne

Austin, Denver and Kansas - Minister for Higher Education Mary Mitchell O'Connor

Savannah and Atlanta - Minister of State for Equality, Immigration and Integration David Stanton 

Vancouver, Calgary and Seattle - Minister of State for the Diaspora and Development, Ciaran Cannon 

Vietnam, Thailand and Malaysia - Minister of State for Public Procurement, Open Government and eGovernment, Patrick O'Donovan 

India - Minister of State for Mental Health and Older People, Jim Daly 

Australia and Timor Leste - Minister of State for Housing and Urban Development, Damian English

Mexico and Cuba - Minister of State for Disability Issues, Finian McGrath

Colombia, Paraguay and Uruguay - Minister of State for Trade, Employment, Business, EU Digital Single Market and Data Protection, Pat Breen

Chicago - Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring

Germany and the Netherlands - Minister of State for Financial Services and Insurance, Michael D'Arcy 

France and Luxembourg - Minister of State for Training, Skills, Innovation, Research and Development, John Halligan

Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania - Minister of State for Local Government and Electoral Reform, John Paul Phelan

Slovakia, Austria and Hungary - Minister of State for Health Promotion and the National Drugs Strategy, Catherine Byrne

Slovenia, Croatia and Bosnia - Minister of State for Food, Forestry and Horticulture, Andrew Doyle

Poland and Czech Republic - Minister of State for the Office of Public Works and Flood Relief, Kevin Boxer Moran

Greece, Romania and Bulgaria - Minister of State for Natural Resources, Community Affairs and Digital Development, Sean Canney

Scotland - Minister of State for Tourism and Sport, Brendan Griffin 

Russia - Cathaoirleach of Seanad Éireann, Senator Denis O'Donovan

Washington - Attorney General, Seamus Woulfe SC

Brazil - Ceann Comhairle of Dáil Éireann, Seán Ó Fearghaíl