India is among five countries that have been added to the list of designated states from which passengers arriving into Ireland must enter Mandatory Hotel Quarantine.

From 4am on Tuesday 4 May, passengers coming from or having transited through Costa Rica, Georgia, India, Iran and Mongolia must enter quarantine at a designated hotel.

The Minister for Health said protecting public health is a priority for Government.

"The scenes we are witnessing in India are distressing and a devastating reminder to us all of the severe illness and death Covid-19 can cause.

"The Government will continue to act to protect the population from Variants of Concern and take decisions that reinforce Ireland's biosecurity," Stephen Donnelly said.

From today, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, San Marino, Monaco, Wallis and Futuna Islands, and Moldova have been removed from the mandatory hotel quarantine list.

The Government continues to advise against all non-essential international travel.

All travellers into Ireland from non-designated countries must have a negative pre-departure test and observe quarantine at home.

Irish Covid aid among EU shipment arrival in India
Read more coronavirus stories