British mobile operator EE said today it would introduce a £2 a day roaming charge for travellers to EU destinations from next January for new and upgrading customers.

But EE said it will not charge customers extra to use their phones in Ireland.

It said this is of particular importance to EE customers who live in Northern Ireland and who are close to border areas, where their phones may lock onto signals from towers operated by Irish-based mobile phone companies.

The company, which is owned by BT, had previously said it had no plans to reintroduce roaming charges following Brexit.

Brexit means the UK is no longer covered by an EU ban on mobile phone companies charging roaming fees on their customers. EE is the first British phone operator to bring back roaming charges.

The new roaming charge comes into effect on 1 January.

EE said today that introducing the charges would "support investment into our UK based customer service and leading UK network".

Since 2017, mobile networks in EU countries have not been allowed to charge customers extra to use their phones in other EU countries.

But the UK is no longer covered by this EU law, and the Brexit trade deal gave mobile phone companies to make their own decisons on bringing back roaming charges.

Yesterday O2 mobile said it was limiting the amount of data UK subscribers can use whilst roaming in EU countries to 25GB a month under a "fair usage" policy.

O2 as well as Vodafone and Three said in 2018 they had no plans to bring back roaming charges.