British Prime Minister Theresa May has set out ten changes in her "new Brexit deal", including a vote in the House of Commons on whether to hold a second referendum.

Mrs May said all of the commitments would be guaranteed in law - so they will endure at least for this Parliament.

Here they are:

- A legal commitment to conclude alternative arrangements to replace the Northern Ireland backstop by December 2020, so that it never needs to be used.

- A commitment that, should the backstop come into force, the Government will ensure that Great Britain's border rules stay aligned with Northern Ireland's.

- Negotiating objectives and final treaties for the UK's future relationship with the EU will have to be approved by MPs.

- A new Workers' Rights Bill offering protections at least as favourable as those in the EU.

- No change in the level of environmental protection when the UK leaves the EU.

- As close to frictionless trade with the EU as is possible once the UK has left the single market but an end to free movement of people.

- A commitment to align the UK with EU rules for goods and products to protect thousands of jobs dependant on just-in-time supply chains.

- A commitment to allow MPs to decide on future customs arrangements with the EU.

- A vote for MPs on whether the deal should be subject to a referendum.

- A legal duty to secure changes to the current political declaration agreed with Brussels to reflect the new deal.