After a second extension to the Article 50 Brexit process, what happens next?

Thursday 11 April

Theresa May makes a statement on the deal to the House of Commons. Talks on a compromise way forward continue at official level between the Government and Labour. Parliament breaks up for its Easter break a week late.

Friday 12 April

The second scheduled date for Brexit passes without the UK leaving the European Union. Further cross-party talks are expected to be scheduled during the truncated Easter break.

Tuesday 23 April

Parliament returns after Easter with time running out for a possible fourth Commons vote on Mrs May's Withdrawal Agreement. Approval and ratification of the deal at any point over the coming months would allow the UK to leave immediately.

Thursday 2 May

Elections in English and Northern Irish local councils will give voters an opportunity to pass judgment on politicians' handling of the Brexit process.

Thursday 23 May

European Parliament elections take place across Britain unless MPs have previously ratified the Withdrawal Agreement.

Wednesday 1 June

Automatic departure without a deal if the UK has not taken part in the European elections.

Thursday 20 June

At the scheduled Brussels summit of the European Council, leaders of the 27 remaining member states will "review" progress towards Brexit.

Sunday 23 June

Third anniversary of the EU referendum.

Tuesday 2 July

First session of the new European Parliament.

Saturday 21 September

Labour's annual conference in Brighton may be the focus of renewed demands for a second referendum on Brexit.

Sunday 29 September

If she is still Conservative leader and the UK is still in the EU, Mrs May is likely to face anger from Tory activists at the party's annual conference in Manchester.

Thursday 31 October

Final deadline for the UK to leave the EU at 11pm, with or without a deal - unless another extension has been agreed. Final day in office of European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker.

Friday 1 November

First day of the new European Commission's term in office.