The by-election in Dublin Bay South will take place on Thursday, 8 July.

The Dáil has moved the writ confirming the date.

Minister for Housing, Local Government and Heritage Darragh O'Brien will now sign the polling order to officially set the date of the vote.

Due to the ongoing public health measures being in place, voters will be asked to bring their own pen or pencil to mark the ballot paper.

However, pencils will also be available at the polling station if required.

Voters will be able to cast their ballots over a slightly longer period than usual with polls open from 7am to 10.30pm.

These are among the measures aimed at ensuring polling stations are safe in this the first Dáil electoral contest since the pandemic began.

Sanitisers will be available at all polling stations, voters will be asked to wear a mask and a perspex screen will be set up at each presiding officer's desk.

Candidates have until midday Thursday 24 June to declare their intention to run in this election to replace former Housing Minister Eoghan Murphy in the the Dáil after he resigned in April.

So far 12 candidates have announced that they are contesting the by-election.

They are: Ivana Bacik (Lab) Lynn Boylan (SF) James Geoghan (FG) Deirdre Conroy (FF) Sarah Durcan (SD) Mairéad Tóibín (Aontú) Bridgit Purcell (PBP) Claire Byrne (GP) Manix Flynn (Ind) Justin Barrett (National Party)Peter Dooley (Ind) Jacqui Gilbourne (Renua).