Austria, Italy and Ukraine are among 11 countries that have been removed from the mandatory hotel quarantine list.

The Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly announced that passengers arriving from Armenia, Aruba, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Curaçao, Italy, Jordan, Kosovo, Lebanon, North Macedonia and Ukraine will no longer need to enter quarantine in a designated hotel.

The revocations come into effect from today.

The Department also announced that Nepal and Anguilla are being added to the list of designated states for mandatory hotel quarantine.

Passengers who have travelled from, or transited through, these states and arrive in Ireland after 4am on Wednesday, 12 May will be required to enter quarantine in a designated hotel.

Mr Donnelly said this decision was made following advice from the Chief Medical Officer.

All travellers into Ireland must have a negative pre-departure Covid test and those from non-designated countries must quarantine at home after arrival.

Earlier today, Minister for European Affairs, Thomas Byrne said Ireland will sign up to the EU's Digital Green Certificate for travel by the end of June as there is a "legal obligation" to do so.

The cert will be available to people who have received a Covid-19 vaccine, test negative for the virus or who have recovered from the disease.

Mr Byrne told RTÉ's Saturday with Katie Hannon that if the vaccination programme "keeps going gangbusters" then people "will be demanding" the right to travel.

He said Ireland can decide whether or not to keep its mandatory hotel quarantine system going forward - but it is up for review on 9 June.

At present, people can be fined €2,000 for travelling abroad for non-essential reasons.

Minister Byrne said officials are doing "everything possible" to ensure Ireland has the technology in place for the Digital Green Certificate.