President Michael D Higgins has officially appointed the new Government ministers at a ceremony at Áras an Uachtaráin this evening.

Fine Gael TD Joe McHugh was appointed as the new Minister for Education and Skills.

Earlier, Deputy McHugh was elected in a Dáil vote with 58 TDs votes in favour of appointing the Donegal TD to Cabinet, 34 TDs voted against the appointment and 29 TDs abstained.

Former Minister for Communications Denis Naughten, who resigned last week, voted for Mr McHugh in this evening's walk-through vote in the Dáil chamber.

The former Minister for Education Richard Bruton was appointed as the new Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, while Seán Kyne becomes Government Chief Whip and Minister with Responsibility for the Gaeltacht.

Independent TD Sean Canney becomes Minister of State for Rural Affairs and Natural Resources.

The Government had the necessary support in the Dáil to make the changes after it secured 57 votes thanks to assurances of support from Independents Mr Canney, Noel Grealish and Michael Lowry.