A record number of people took part in today's Dublin Marathon in the capital.

SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon, Race Director Jim Aughney said: "We are delighted to have a record entry and to be the fifth biggest marathon in Europe.

"The marathon has grown 10-fold from just over 2,000 runners in 1980 to 20,000 in 2017," said Mr Aughney.

Kenyan Bernard Rotich won the men's race in a time of 2 hours 15 minutes, while the women's race was won by Nataliya Lehonkova of Ukraine, who finished in a time of 2 hours and 28 minutes.

The recipient of the Lord Mayor's Medal was Mairead Tywang who was running her first marathon in memory of her daughter Searlait who passed away in 2016 aged five, after a battle against childhood cancer.

We need your consent to load this rte-player contentWe use rte-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

The marathon route went as far north as the Phoenix Park, before skirting around UCD to the South, with those competing then making their way back into the city centre, before finishing up on Merrion Square.

Almost all of the traffic restrictions, which were in place since this morning, will have lifted by this evening.