The Department of Social Protection has announced plans to publish the names and addresses of people convicted of welfare fraud every quarter.

Speaking at the publication of the Social Welfare and Pensions Bill 2017, Minister for Social Protection Leo Varadkar said the process will be similar to the List of Tax Defaulters published by Revenue.

It provides for the quarterly publication of the names and addresses of those convicted of welfare fraud, along with penalties to individual payments for up to nine weeks.

The bill would also give greater protection to members of defined benefit schemes.

Employers will have to give 12 months notice for ceasing contributions to a scheme, and work on a funding proposal.

It also provides for spousal pension rights for same-sex couples and civil partners in occupational schemes.