Home owners in Co Galway are facing a 10% increase in Local Property Tax payments next year.

Galway County Council last night voted in favour of a proposal to increase the charge in 2017. 

A total of 21 councillors supported the motion, with 15 opposing it. 

Councils have the power to either increase or decrease the rate of Local Property Tax by up to 15% or, leave it unaltered.

The proposal was backed by all but one of the Fine Gael members on the local authority, with support from several Fianna Fáil councillors. 

A majority of the council's Independent members opposed the motion, along with Sinn Féin and some representatives from Fianna Fáil.