President Michael D Higgins has led the tributes to Team Ireland after a hugely successful day at the Rio Paralympic Games.

Eoghan Clifford won gold in cycling's C3 time trial and Katie-George Dunleavy and pilot Eve McCrystal triumphed in cycling's B tandem time trial.

Colin Lynch won the silver medal in the C2 time trial road race.

Ellen Keane added to the medal haul, when she finished third in the SB8 100m breaststroke final at Rio’s Maria Lenk Aquatics Centre.

"I want to congratulate our medal winners on a fantastic day for Ireland," Mr Higgins said.

"These athletes have shown what can be accomplished with drive and determination, and their phenomenal performances have inspired the nation."