More than twenty parks and public spaces across Ireland have been awarded a Green Flag, an international standard benchmark for open spaces recognised throughout the world, organisers say.

This is the first year An Taisce has made the award available to public parks, country parks, cemeteries and green spaces across the whole country following a trial in Dublin last year.

St Stephen's Green, Grangegorman Military Cemetery, the National War Memorial Garden in Islandbridge and a number of other parks and gardens were awarded in Dublin.

Spaces in Longford, Gorey, Dundalk, Portlaoise, Mullingar, Tullamore and Mayo were also among the recipients.

Dublin City Council

Blessington Street Park

Dublin City Council

Bushy Park

Dublin City Council

Markievicz Park

Dublin City Council

Poppintree Park

Dublin City Council

St Anne's Park

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council

Cabinteely Park

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council

People’s Park

Fingal County Council

Ardgillan Demesne

Fingal County Council

Malahide Demesne

Fingal County Council

Millennium Park

Fingal County Council

St. Catherine’s Park

Laois County Council

Páirc an Phobail Park

Longford County Council

The Mall

Louth County Council

Blackrock Community Park

Mayo County Council

Turlough Park

Offaly County Council

Lloyd Town Park Tullamore


Saint Stephen's Green


Grangegorman Military Cemetery


National War Memorial Garden - Islandbridge


Derrynane Historic Park

Westmeath County Council

Mullingar Town Park

Wexford County Council

Gorey Town Park and Showgrounds

This is the first year the award was available across Ireland

Robert Moss, the Green Flag Awards for Parks Manager for Ireland said: "The often unseen hard work of many park staff over many years has provided Ireland with a wealth of treasured parks, gardens, and green spaces.

"These important amenities provide us with a welcome refuge from the stress of urban life, and are major attractions for tourists and other visitors to Ireland," he added.

Organisers say the awards are marked on eight criteria, including horticultural standards, cleanliness, sustainability and community involvement.