Labour Councillor Brendan Carr has been elected Lord Mayor of Dublin.

Councillor Carr, an official with the union SIPTU, was elected as a result of a voting pact between Labour, Sinn Féin, the Green Party and independents.

He received 43 votes, while Tina McVeigh of People Before Profit got nine and Paul McAuliffe of Fianna Fáil got eight.

Fine Gael councillors also voted for Mr Carr.Two councillors were absent.

Mr Carr, who represents the Cabra/Finglas area, becomes the 347th Lord Mayor of Dublin and will hold the post for one year.