A group of eight labour TDs has submitted a draft motion to the party's standing orders committee for this weekend's conference.

The motion calls on the Government to reject any further takeover offer for the State's shareholding in Aer Lingus unless a number of concerns are addressed.

It states that concerns exist that the offer by International Airlines Group does not reflect the true value of the company and an independent valuation of the company's assets, especially the 23 Heathrow slots, is required.

It also says a firm commitment is needed in the form of a Registered Employment Agreement to protect the employment and conditions of employment of workers.

"Reliable" guarantees around connectivity and the Heathrow slots are also sought as well as a plan to promote Shannon and Cork airports.

The eight TDs are Joe Costello, Sean Kenny, Brendan Ryan, John Lyons, Eamon Maloney, Robert Dowds, Dominic Hannigan and Michael McNamara.