Four new members are set to be appointed to the RTÉ Board after they were nominated by the Oireachtas Communications Committee.

The committee has also nominated four new members to sit on the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI) following a private meeting.

The nominees were selected out of more than 130 applications.

The committee was given the powers to nominate members of these boards by former minister for communications Eamon Ryan.

The nominees for the RTÉ Board are: Padraig O'Ceidigh, Founder of Aer Arann, Margaret E Ward, financial journalist and entrepreneur, Shane Naughton, Chief Financial Officer with the Economist Group and Fionnuala Sheehan, Founder of the social marketing programme

The four nominees for the BAI are: Clare Duignan, former Managing Director of RTÉ Radio, Dr Rosemary Day of the Department of Media at Mary Immaculate College in Limerick, Professor Maeve McDonagh of the Faculty of Law at University College Cork, and Denis Wolinski, former head of the Independent Television Commission in Northern Ireland.

The nominees still have to be passed by the Minister for Communications Alex White and approved by the Government.