Two Irish writers have been longlisted for this year's Man Booker Prize.

Niall Williams from Dublin is nominated for 'History of the Rain'.

He has lived in Kiltumper, Co Clare for the past 30 years and is the author of eight novels, three stage plays, four non-fiction works and several screenplays.

Joseph O'Neill, who was born in Cork and lives and writes in New York, is nominated for 'The Dog'.

His previous works include 'This is the Life' and 'The Breezes'.

Thirteen authors appear on the longlist, which was this year extended to include writers of any nationality writing in English and originally published in the UK.

Others on the list include former winner Howard Jacobson, British-born Cork resident David Mitchell and David Nicholls.

Full list

To Rise Again at a Decent Hour, Joshua Ferris (Viking)
The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Richard Flanagan (Chatto & Windus)
We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler (Serpent's Tail)
The Blazing World,  Siri Hustvedt (Sceptre)
J, Howard Jacobson (Jonathan Cape)
The Wake, Paul Kingsnorth (Unbound)
The Bone Clocks, David Mitchell (Sceptre)
The Lives of Others, Neel Mukherjee (Chatto & Windus)
Us, David Nicholls (Hodder & Stoughton)
The Dog, Joseph O'Neill (Fourth Estate)
Orfeo, Richard Powers (Atlantic Books)
How to be Both, Ali Smith (Hamish Hamilton)
History of the Rain, Niall Williams (Bloomsbury)