Fine Gael Councillor Lola O’Sullivan has been elected the new Mayor of Waterford.

Ms O’Sullivan, who lives in Tramore, is the first mayor of the new amalgamated Waterford City and County Councils.

She was supported by councillors from Sinn Féin, Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil, and two independents.

John Carey, from Passage East, was elected Deputy Mayor.

32 councillors were elected in the recent Local Elections in Waterford.

All 32-members met for the first time in City Hall last Friday where they elected FF Councillor James Tobin from Tallow as the new chairperson of Waterford Council.