The Government has outlined the ministerial travel plans for St Patrick's Day.

A total of 28 ministers and junior ministers will be visiting more than 36 cities in 24 countries across Europe, America and Asia.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny will travel to the United States, while Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore will visit France.

Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform Brendan Howlin will visit China, while Minister for Justice Alan Shatter will travel to Mexico.

Minister of State at the Department of Health Kathleen Lynch will visit Vietnam, while Minister for Agriculture Simon Coveney will visit New Zealand and eastern Australia.

It has also been announced that there will be 18 ministerial-led trade missions in 2014.

This is more than double the number of missions during 2007-2011.

Government programme for St Patrick's Day 2014:

Taoiseach Enda Kenny - United States
Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore - France
Minister Michael Noonan - Canada
Minister Brendan Howlin - China
Minister Richard Bruton - Italy
Minister Joan Burton - New York, USA
Minister Jimmy Deenihan - San Francisco, USA
Minister Pat Rabbitte - London & Birmingham, England
Minister Phil Hogan - United Arab Emirates
Minister Alan Shatter - Mexico
Minister Simon Coveney - New Zealand & eastern Australia
Minister Frances Fitzgerald - Japan & South Korea
Minister James Reilly - Massachusetts & Ohio, USA
Minister Leo Varadkar - Georgia, USA
Attorney General Máire Whelan - Washington DC, USA
Minister of State Paul Kehoe - Lebanon
Minister of State Jan O'Sullivan - Scotland
Minister of State Dinny McGinley - Pennsylvania, USA
Minister of State John Perry - Spain
Minister of State Michael Ring - The Netherlands
Minister of State Kathleen Lynch - Vietnam
Minister of State Fergus O'Dowd - Germany
Minister of State Sean Sherlock - Illinois & Kansas, USA
Minister of State Ciaran Cannon - Romania
Minister of State Alan Kelly - western Australia
Minister of State Alex White - Russia
Minister of State Tom Hayes - Norway
Minister of State Paschal Donohoe - Belgium & Luxembourg
Minister of State Joe Costello - Singapore