The Government has announced the appointment of a new Chief of Staff of the Defence Forces, as well as a new Secretary General of the Department of Defence.

Major General Conor O'Boyle, current Deputy Chief of Staff (Support) has been nominated by the Government for appointment by the President as Chief of Staff.

He will succeed Lieutenant General Seán McCann, who retires on 12 August.

Meanwhile, Maurice Quinn is to take over as Secretary General of the Department of Defence following the retirement of Michael Howard in October.

Mr Quinn is currently Assistant Secretary of the Department of Tourism, Transport and Sport. He was an Assistant Secretary in the Department of Defence until March of this year.