Dublin City Council has announced a shortlist of names for the city’s newest bridge.

The local authority has selected 17 names from 85 official nominations for the bridge over the River Liffey at Marlborough Street.

10,000 supporting submissions were made to the council, including emails, direct correspondence and petitions.

Chairman of the Commemorative Naming Committee, Councillor Dermot Lacey said: "This process has assisted in bringing to public attention to people and events that have made a unique and outstanding contribution to the life and history of Dublin.

"It has brought into focus a rich variety of names, many of which will give the City Council suggestions for the naming of infrastructure into the future," he added.

The shortlisted names for the new bridge will be reviewed at the next meeting of naming committee on 12 June.


Abbey Theatre Bridge
Willie Bermingham
James Connolly
Frank Duff
Lady Gregory
Tony Gregory
Rosie Hackett
Kay Mills
James Plunkett
George Sigerson
Bram Stoker
Jonathan Swift
The Patriots Bridge
The Returned Home Bridge
Ernest Walton
Oscar Wilde
W B Yeats