Fine Gael councillor Naoise Ó Múirí has been elected as the Lord Mayor of Dublin.

The councillor from Clontarf was elected as a result of an ongoing voting pact with Labour.

Mr Ó Múirí beat Independent candidate Mannix Flynn by 32 votes to six. The Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin groups abstained.

Councillor Clare Byrne, who is also from Fine Gael, was elected deputy lord mayor.

Elsewhere, former Ireland international rugby player and Labour councillor Gerry McLoughlin has been elected as Mayor of Limerick.

Roscommon County Council has elected Independent Tom Crosby as the mayor of the county and chairman of the council.

In Galway, Independent councillor Terry O'Flaherty has been elected mayor for the second time, having previously held the office as a Progressive Democrat in 2003.

The new mayor of Waterford City is Fine Gael councillor Jim D'Arcy.