Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government Phil Hogan has moved the order for the Presidential election.

The election will take place on the 27 October and the closing date for nomination of candidates is 28 September.

All Irish citizens over the age of 18 are entitled to vote and polling booths will open from 7am until 10pm.

So far there are four confirmed candidates in the Presidential race.

They are Fine Gael's Gay Mitchell, Labour's Michael D Higgins and Independents Sean Gallagher and Mary Davis.

The Fianna Fáil sub-committee on the Presidential election is understood to have recommended that the party should not put forward a candidate for the contest.

The recommendation was agreed yesterday by the six-member committee and will be debated at a parliamentary party meeting tomorrow afternoon.