Labour councillor Andrew Montague who spearheaded the introduction of the Dublin Bike scheme has been elected the city's new Lord Mayor.

Cllr Andrew Montague received 29 votes with support from Labour and Fine Gael representatives.

Independent candidate Cllr Cieran Perry received 10 votes and Cllr Larry O'Toole of Sinn Féin received five.

Fianna Fáil members abstained.

Sinn Féin accused Labour and Fine Gael of operating a pact to share the position of Mayor until the next local elections in 2014.

Labour's Maria Parodi was elected deputy Lord Mayor.

Elsewhere, Fine Gael's Jim Long has been elected 815th Mayor of Limerick City.

A native of St Mary's Park, he represents people on the Southside of the city including those who live in regeneration areas of Southhill and Ballinacurra Weston.