The counting of votes in the Seanad election is continuing.

The 11-seat Agricultural Panel has been filled.

Fine Gael and Fianna Fail took four seats each, Labour won two, and Sinn Féin took one.

The Fine Gael candidates elected were Paul Bradford, Paddy Burke, Michael Comiskey and Patrick O'Neill.

Fianna Fáil's successes are all outgoing Senators - Paschal Mooney, Brian Ó Domhnaill, Denis O Donovan and Jim Walsh.

Former journalist Susan O'Keefe was elected for Labour along with party colleague James Heffernan.

Trevor Ó Clochartaigh was elected for Sinn Féin.

Counting to decide the 11-seat Labour panel has begun.

Fine Gael's Maurice Cummins and Fidelma Healy Eames have taken the first two seats on that panel.

Sinn Féin's David Cullihane and Labour's Maire Maloney were next to win seats.

Tony Mulcahy and Cait Keane - both from Fine Gael were the latest to elected from the Labour panel.

Independent Senator David Norris has also been elected.

So far there have been no great surprises in this Seanad election, and it has been moving along as predicted.

It looks like the most intriguing battles will take place within Fianna Fáil between those who are on Micheál Martin's list of ten preferred candidates and those who are not.

Observers are predicting five will be successful.

There was a blow for the Fianna Fáil leader earlier when one his chosen runners, Sean Connick, was eliminated.

Today's count in Leinster House looks set to run into the early hours of tomorrow morning.

Fine Gael's Deirdre Clune and Michael Mullins, Fianna Fáil's Labhrás Ó Murchú and Thomas Byrne and Labour's John Gilroy were elected to the five-seat Cultural and Educational panel last night.

Mr Byrne was on Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin's list of preferred candidates.

Meanwhile, the counting to decide who makes up the six seats on the Universities Panel has also begun.

It is expected those final results will not be known until tomorrow.

A total of 47 candidates are contesting the seats for the University Panel. Three will be elected by NUI graduates, with the other three elected by graduates of Trinity.

The remaining 11 are chosen by the Taoiseach. The final outcome will be known on Friday night.