Alan Jagoe has been elected the new president of rural organisation Macra na Feirme.

Mr Jagoe is a 28-year-old dairy, beef and tillage farmer from Carrigaline, Co Cork.

The results of a national election were announced in the Irish Farm Centre, Dublin, this afternoon.

Mr Jagoe defeated Thomas Dolan from Carlow and Dara Kavanagh from Wicklow.

Outgoing president Michael Gowing from Laois wished Mr Jagoe well during his two-year term of office, which begins on 7 May.

Mr Jagoe is a member of Carrigaline Macra na Feirme from the Seandun region in Cork.

He joined Macra nine years ago.

IFA President John Bryan has congratulated Mr Jagoe on his election as President of Macra na Feirme.

Mr Bryan said he looked forward to working closely with Alan Jagoe on the issues affecting young farmers and farm families.

As President of Macra na Feirme, Alan Jagoe will sit on the IFA Executive Council, and Mr Bryan said he looks forward to his contributions.

Results were also announced in three vice-presidential elections.
Kieran O'Dowd from South Sligo Macra club was declared the winner in the northwest race.

William Holohan from Mullinavat Macra club in Kilkenny has been elected as Leinster vice-president.

Tommy Moyles from Ballinascarthy Macra club was elected unopposed for the Munster position.