Labour's Joan Burton topped the poll in Dublin West and was elected on the first count. She was the first TD elected to the 31st Dáil.

Leo Varadkar was elected on the second count with 8,555 votes. Interestingly, the returning officer fail to call out his name during the declaration of the first count.

After losing his seat, Joe Higgins of the Socialist Party is back in the Dáil. He was elected on the third count with 8,603 votes.

Finance Minister Brian Lenihan (Fianna Fáil) was elected on the fifth count.