A record 566 candidates are awaiting the nationwide start of voting at 7am tomorrow morning.

Voting has already taken place on a number of islands off the Donegal coast and polls were open on four islands off Co Galway today.

The 1,100 residents on Inis Mór, Inis Meáin, Inis Thiar and Inishboffin are among the more than 3.1m people eligible to vote in this General Election.

Voter turnout on the three Aran Islands and Inishbofin was said to be in the mid 20s by 4pm.

On Inis Mór, only 75 out of a possible 629 people had cast their vote by that time.

Overall, the ballots cast will decide 165 of the 166 members of the 31st Dail, with the Ceann Comhairle being automatically returned.

Some of the boundaries in the 43 constituencies have changed since 2007.

Limerick East, Limerick West and Kerry North have been abolished and replaced by Limerick City, Limerick and Kerry North-West Limerick.

There have also been some changes to seat numbers in a small number of constituencies.

Polling stations will close at 10pm tomorrow night.

Those who have yet to receive their polling cards are advised to attend their local polling station as usual with some form of identification.

Acceptable documents include a passport, a driving licence - or a Bank, Savings or Credit Union book with the voter's address.

At the polling station you will be given a ballot paper with the candidates names, photos and party affiliations.

Counting of votes gets under way at 9am on Saturday morning.

Full coverage: RTÉ.ie/Election2011