Lithuania's parliament has ratified the European Union's Lisbon Treaty.

83 legislators in the 141-member chamber voted in favour of the treaty, five voted against and 23 abstained.

The remaining lawmakers were either absent or did not take part in the vote.

Lithuania, a former Soviet state which joined the EU in 2004 with seven other ex-communist countries, had been the first member of the bloc to ratify the EU's constitution, which was later scuppered by French and Dutch voters in referendums in 2005.

All 27 EU members must ratify the Lisbon Treaty before it can come into effect in 2009.

According to the EU's executive body, the European Commission, Austria, Bulgaria, Denmark, France, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia have already passed the treaty.

Poland's parliamentary ratification must still be signed by its president for the treaty to be considered formally adopted by that country.

Visit RTÉ's Lisbon Treaty website