Two junior ministers have lost their jobs in a reshuffle announced this afternoon.

Noel Treacy and Frank Fahey have been sacked, and seven new Ministers of State appointed.

The two casualties are long serving ministers and their departure was not unexpected; Frank Fahey was previously a full Cabinet minister in the Department of the Marine.

Today's winners are Tipperary North TD Máire Hoctor, Sligo's Jimmy Devins, John McGuinness from Carlow-Kilkenny, Dublin North-West's Pat Carey, and Billy Kelleher from Cork North-Central.

Michael Kitt from Galway East will be the junior minister for overseas development.

Acting Green Party leader Trevor Sargent has as expected been appointed Minister of State in the Department of Agriculture and Food.

And Brendan Smith of Cavan-Monaghan becomes Minister of State in the Department for Children with the right to attend cabinet.

As part of the reshuffle of existing ministers of state, Noel Ahern takes over responsibility for the Office of Public Works, while Conor Lenihan becomes Minister with Responsibility for Integrating the Immigrant Community.

The Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern, had a number of positions in his gift after the cabinet approved an increase in the number of juniors from 17 to 20, and the failure of two Progressive Democrats' ministers, Tom Parlon and Tim O'Malley, to be re-elected.

A Bill to increase the number of junior ministers by three is to be put before the Oireachtas next week.

New Ministers of State:

Brendan Smith - Minister of State at the Department of Children
Máire Hoctor - junior minister responsible for Older People
Jimmy Devins - junior minister responsible for Disability Issues and Mental Health
John McGuinness - junior minister responsible for Trade and Commerce
Pat Carey - junior minister responsible for Drugs Strategy and Community Affairs
Billy Kelleher - junior minister responsible for Labour Affairs
Michael Kitt - junior minister for overseas development
Trevor Sargent - Minister of State in the Department of Agriculture and Food