With two Fianna Fáil candidates contesting the last seat in the General Election, the final state of the parties is: Fianna Fáil 78; Fine Gael 51; Labour 20; PDs 2; Green Party 6; Sinn Féin 4 and Others 5.

Fianna Fáil has certainly captured the last seat in Laois / Offaly , with outgoing TD John Moloney and newcomer John Foley bidding to be the final TD elected to the 30th Dáil.

Outgoing Fine Gael TD for Laois Offaly, Olywn Enright, was re-elected on the eighth count. She joined national poll topper Brian Cowen as the second deputy in the five seater constituency.

Fine Gael's Charlie Flanagan recaptured the seat he lost to the Tom Parlon in 2002, after being elected on the ninth count in Laois Offaly.

Outgoing Fianna Fail Deputy Sean Flemming was also elected.

All the seats in Galway West have now been filled.  On the 13th count the PDs' Noel Grealish and Fianna Fáil's Frank Fahy were both elected without reaching the quota. 

Earlier Fianna Fáil's Éamon Ó Cuív, Labour's Michael D Higgins and Fine Gael's Padraig McCormack  were elected to the first three seats.

There is no change in party representation in the constituency, where for the first time ever all five outgoing TDs have been re-elected.

In Dublin North-East, Tommy Broughan of Labour, Fine Gael's Terence Flanagan and Michael Woods of Fianna Fáil have been elected on the fourth count. The count is now complete.

Labour's Mary Upton has been elected after the ninth count in Dublin South-Central.

Two seats remain undecided following the election of the outgoing Fianna Fáil pair of Seán Ardagh and Michael Mulcahy.

In Wicklow, Fine Gael's Billy Timmins has been returned after the ninth count. His party colleague Andrew Doyle took the final seat in Wicklow after the final count.

Earlier, the Labour Party's deputy leader, Liz McManus, was elected on the eighth count.

They join Dick Roche and newcomer Joe Behan of Fianna Fáil, who had already been elected.

In Tipperary South, the seats were filled by Tom Hayes of Fine Gael,  Mattie McGrath of Fianna Fáil and Martin Mansergh of Fianna Fáil.

Mr Mansergh was elected on the eighth count after outgoing Independent TD Seamus Healy withdrew his request for a re-examination and recount.