Two new deputies have been elected to Dáil Éireann following by-elections in Meath and Kildare North.

Fine Gael's Shane Mc Entee won the Meath seat after defeating Fianna Fáil candidate Shane Cassells by 2,869 votes in the fourth and final count.

McEntee finished with 24,047 votes ahead of Cassells' 21,178.

Sinn Féin's Joe Reilly and Labour's Dominic Hannigan were  eliminated on the previous count.

The PD's Sirena Campbell and the Green Party's Fergal O'Byrne were both eliminated on the second count.

Murphy takes Kildare North seat

The Independent Candidate, Catherine Murphy, has been elected in the Kildare North by-election on the fifth count.

She beat Fianna Fáil's Áine Brady by 2,438 votes.

In the fifth and final count Ms Brady received 1,685 transfers following the elimination of Fine Gael's Darren Scully giving her a total of 9,818 votes.

Catherine Murphy received 3,447 transfers giving her a total of 12,256 votes.

Turnout in both constituencies was reported to be low with an estimated 40% of voters going to the polls in Meath, while an estimated 37% cast their votes in Kildare North.

The two by-elections were called to fill the seats vacated by the former Taoiseach, John Bruton, and the former Minister for Finance, Charlie McCreevy.

Click here for more information.