Pakistan has been reinstated among the 53 nations in the British Commonwealth after an absence of five years.

The country's status had been suspended since 1999 due to the military coup which brought General Pervez Musharraf to power.

The Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group decided that the world's largest Muslim nation had 'made progress' towards restoring democracy.

However, meeting in London, the CMAG also warned that Pakistan would be subject to continued monitoring.