Belfast writer-director Kenneth Branagh won the Best Original Screenplay Oscar at the Academy Awards on Sunday night, saluting his hometown and "the fabulous Island of Ireland" in his acceptance speech.

Branagh's win was one of the heart-warming highlights of a ceremony that was later rocked by an onstage incident involving Best Actor winner Will Smith and award presenter Chris Rock.

Collecting the award for Best Original Screenplay, Branagh said: "This is an enormous honour for my family and a great tribute to an amazing city and fantastic people."

Watch some highlights from the Oscars 2022:

We need your consent to load this rte-player contentWe use rte-player to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

He continued: "This story is the search for joy and hope in the face of violence and loss.

"We lost some people along the way."

"This means a lot"

He added: "We miss them, we love them and we will never forget them and we will never forget all of those lost in the heart-breaking, heart-warming human story of that amazing city of Belfast on the fabulous island of Ireland. This means a lot."

Branagh's win was Belfast's sole honour of the night. It had been nominated in seven categories.

The biggest winner of the night was Dune, with the sci-fi epic winning six Oscars, dominating in the technical categories and also securing Best Score for Hans Zimmer.

CODA, which includes Irish actor Ferdia Walsh-Peelo, among its cast, won the top prize of the night, Best Picture, becoming the first film from a streaming service, Apple TV+, to take the honour. It also received the awards for Best Adapted Screenplay for its director Sian Heder and Best Supporting Actor for star Troy Kotsur. He became the first Deaf male actor to win an Oscar.

The CODA team celebrating their Best Picture win

The Power of the Dog's Jane Campion became only the third female filmmaker to win Best Director, following in the footsteps of Nomadland's Chloé Zhao and The Hurt Locker's Kathryn Bigelow. Campion's film had led this year's shortlist with 12 nominations. Her Best Director win was its only Oscar.

Jessica Chastain was named Best Actress for her performance in The Eyes of Tammy Faye while West Side Story's Ariana DeBose won Best Supporting Actress. Both first-time winners gave memorable speeches, championing diversity and acceptance.

However, it was the incident involving Smith and Rock that will be the main talking point of the 94th Academy Awards - for all the wrong reasons.

The incident involving Chris Rock (L) and Will Smith

Smith stormed the stage and hit Rock in the face after the comedian made a joke about his wife Jada Pinkett Smith.

The ceremony never recovered from the shock, with Smith tearfully apologising to Oscars organiser the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences as he accepted his Best Actor award for King Richard.

It made for a difficult watch as the audience in the Dolby Theatre - and at home - tried to process what they had just seen.

In a tweet after the ceremony, the Academy wrote: "The Academy does not condone violence of any form.

"Tonight we are delighted to celebrate our 94th Academy Awards winners, who deserve this moment of recognition from their peers and movie lovers around the world."

The Winners in Full:

Best Picture

Best Director
Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog

Actress in a Leading Role
Jessica Chastain, The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Actor in a Leading Role
Will Smith, King Richard

Actress in a Supporting Role
Ariana DeBose, West Side Story

Actor in a Supporting Role
Troy Kotsur, CODA

Best International Feature Film
Drive My Car, Japan

Best Documentary Feature
Summer of Soul, Ahmir 'Questlove' Thompson, Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent, David Dinerstein

Best Animated Feature Film
Encanto, Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino, Clark Spencer

Best Original Screenplay
Belfast, Kenneth Branagh

Best Adapted Screenplay
CODA, Sian Heder

Best Original Score
Dune, Hans Zimmer

Best Original Song
No Time to Die, Billie Eilish, Finneas O'Connell (No Time to Die)

Best Live Action Short Film
The Long Goodbye, Aneil Karia, Riz Ahmed

Best Documentary Short Subject
The Queen of Basketball, Ben Proudfoot

Best Animated Short Film
The Windshield Wiper, Alberto Mielgo, Leo Sanchez

Best Cinematography
Dune, Greig Fraser

Best Visual Effects
Dune, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor, Gerd Nefzer

Best Production Design
Dune, Zsuzsanna Sipos, Patrice Vermette

Best Sound
Dune, Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill, Ron Bartlett

Best Film Editing
Dune, Joe Walker

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
The Eyes of Tammy Faye, Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh

Best Costume Design
Cruella, Jenny Bevan