It has been announced that the stars of hit comedy Derry Girls will compete in the Great British Bake Off festive special.

Taking part in the seasonal competition are Saoirse-Monica Jackson, Nicola Coughlan, Jamie-Lee O'Donnell, Dylan Llewellyn and Siobhan McSweeney.

The show, which will be on Channel 4 on New Year's Day will see the cast from the hit comedy bake up a festive storm as they compete for the coveted title.

Neol Fielding, Paul Hollywood, Prue Leith and Sandi Toksvig

Presenting pair Noel Fielding and Sandi Toksvig will return to guide bakers through the show.

Judges Paul Hollywood and Prue Leith will also be taking part in the special to put the Derry Girls stars through their paces.

The regular show was won by David Atherton, who beat competition from Steph Blackwell and Alice Fevronia.

Click here for more TV news