The shortlist for this year's Mercury Music Prize for the Best British or Irish album has been announced, but there are no Irish acts among the nominees. 

Arctic Monkeys, Florence + the Machine and Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds are the bookmakers' joint favourites to take the 2018 award. Arctic Monkeys won the award in 2006 for their debut, Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not.

Three acts are shortlisted for their debuts this year: Jorja Smith, Novelist Guy and record producer Richard Russell's compilation project Everything Is Recorded.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in London on September 20. 

The Nominees:
Arctic Monkeys -Tranquillity Base Hotel & Casino 

Everything Everything - A Fever Dream 

Everything Is Recorded - Everything Is Recorded 

Florence + The Machine - High as Hope

Jorja Smith - Lost & Found 

King Krule - The Ooz 

Lily Allen - No Shame 

Nadine Shah - Holiday Destination 

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds - Who Built the Moon?

Novelist - Novelist Guy 

Sons of Kemet - Your Queen Is a Reptile

Wolf Alice - Visions of a Life