Marty Morrissey has said he was "delighted and a little shocked" to be named Presenter of the Year at this year's television IFTAs.

The Gala Presenter of the Year award is the only category to be voted on by the public, with the 10 nominees shortlisted first by a panel of industry experts.

Morrissey was named the winner on the night, having been nominated alongside Ryan Tubridy, Miriam O'Callaghan, Sharon Ní Bheoláin, Karen Koster, Matt Cooper, Elaine Crowley, Graham Norton, Christine Lampard and Hector Ó hEochagáin.

Morrissey said of receiving the award, "I'm absolutely delighted and a little shocked if I'm honest to have been named Television Presenter of the Year last Thursday night.

"It's a huge honour, especially given the calibre of my fellow nominees. Thank you to everyone who voted for me."

Speaking about the award, IFTA CEO Áine Moriarty said, "This award recognises the skill and talent of Irish TV professionals, who reach into the hearts and minds of Irish audiences day in day out, keeping them informed and engaged across all aspects of society. 

"Whether they are reporting, educating, investigating or entertaining, these household names are committed and passionate about their work and their presenting roles on screen."

Check out more from this year's IFTAS here