A limited number of extra tickets are being released for Ed Sheeran's Cork and Dublin dates in 2018 due to confirmation of stage and production details.

The tickets are for the singer-songwriter's sold-out gigs in the new Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork on May 4, 5 and 6 and the Phoenix Park in Dublin on May 16, 18 and 19 next year.

The added bout of tickets will be released for sale on Thursday, November 30 at 9am through usual Ticketmaster outlets nationwide and online.

After months of speculation, it was announced in June that Ed Sheeran would be playing his biggest Irish tour to date, with seven huge outdoor shows in Cork, Belfast, Galway and Dublin in May 2018.

Two extra dates were later added after Sheeran broke the record for the most tickets sold by an artist in Ireland in one day when over 300,000 tickets were sold for his 2018 tour on Saturday, July 9.

Sheeran kicks off his European tour in Cork on Friday May 4 next year

The Shape of You star kicks off his 2018 European tour at Cork's Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Friday May 4, Saturday May 5 and Sunday May 6, 2018. These will be the first outdoor shows at the revamped home of Cork GAA. 

He then travels to Belfast to play Boucher Road Playing Fields on Wednesday May 9. 

The mother of all Galway Girl singsongs will take place in the City of the Tribes' Pearse Stadium on Saturday May 12 and Sunday May 13.

Sheeran wraps up his epic Irish trek with two concerts in Dublin's Phoenix Park on Wednesday May 16 and Friday May 18. 

Last year's Glastonbury headliner Sheeran to play nine Irish shows next year

Tickets for Sheeran's Irish tour dates are subject to strict anti-tout rules which have been brought in to try to stop people reselling them online for extortionate prices.

Promoters for the gigs have said resold tickets will not be valid for entry and concert goers will have to provide their booking confirmation, credit card, and a valid form of ID.