RTÉ broadcaster Aine Lawlor is among the new inductees into the Phonographic Performance Ireland (PPI) Radio Awards' Hall of Fame.

Joining the News at One presenter as inductees are: Paul Claffey of Mid West Radio, Today FM's Tony Fenton and BBC Radio Ulster's Walter Love.

The four have been chosen by a group of their peers in the Irish radio industry. 

Sean Murtagh, PPI Radio Awards Committee Chairperson, said: "We are delighted to induct Walter Love, Aine Lawlor, Paul Claffey and Tony Fenton into the PPI Radio Awards' Hall of Fame.

"They rightfully take their place alongside the 14 other great Irish radio luminaries who have been honoured by their peers."

Previous inductees to the PPI Radio Awards' Hall of Fame are: Joe Duffy, Bill Golding, Liam O'Shea, Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh, Jimmy Magee, Marian Finucane, Des Whelan, Gay Byrne, Larry Gogan, Mario Rosenstock, Séan Bán Breathnach, Candy Devine, Ronan O'Rahilly and the late Gerry Ryan.

The 2014 PPI Radio Awards take place on Friday October 3 at the Lyrath House Estate Hotel in Kilkenny.

Paying tribute to Aine Lawlor, RTÉ Director-General Noel Curran said: "Aine is one of our most recognisable and valued voices. In that voice we hear both the highly experienced journalist - sharp, incisive and probing - but also the warmth of the person, and the ready humour that marks her unique style.

"Aine's familiarity follows from a long and successful career: 20 years as a presenter on Morning Ireland and News at One along with stints on The Marian Finucane Show, The Today Show, Today at 5 and RTÉ 2fm News. I'm delighted that Aine has been recognised with this prestigious honour."