A trio of Irish authors feature on the shortlist for the prestigious Rathbones Folio Prize, known internationally as 'The Writers' Prize', announced today. 

The shortlisted Irish titles include a pair of acclaimed literary debuts: Elaine Feeney's As You Were and Doireann Ní Ghríofa's A Ghost In the Throat (winner of the An Post Irish Book of the Year 2020), alongside Sara Baume's memoir Handiwork.

Sara Baume

The latter two books are both published by independent publishing house Tramp Press - in total, independent publishers and small presses count for five of the eight shortlisted titles.

The 2021 Rathbones Folio Prize shortlist is as follows:

handiwork – Sara Baume (Tramp Press) 

Indelicacy – Amina Cain (Daunt Books) 

As You Were – Elaine Feeney (Harvill Secker) 

Poor – Caleb Femi (Penguin) 

My Darling from the Lions – Rachel Long (Picador) 

In the Dream House: A Memoir – Carmen Maria Machado (Serpent’s Tail) 

A Ghost in the Throat – Doireann Ní Ghríofa (Tramp Press)

The Mermaid of Black Conch – Monique Roffey (Peepal Tree Press) 

Elaine Feeney

The £30,000 Prize rewards the best work of literature of the year, regardless of form. It is the only award governed by an international academy of distinguished writers and critics; this year's judges include T.S. Eliot Prize-winning poet Roger Robinson, novelist and short story writer Jon McGregor and Irish writer, editor and broadcaster Sinéad Gleeson. 

Previous winners of the prize include Valeria Luiselli (2020), Hisham Matar (2017), Akhil Sharma (2015) and George Saunders (2014). The winner will be announced on Wednesday 24 March.