Marty Whelan was joined by Crash Ensemble CEO Neva Elliott McGinley and conductor David Brophy to discuss Crashlands, their new album featuring new works from 20 Irish and international composers, commissioned to celebrate Crash's 20th anniversary - listen to them chat above. 

Featured composers, who are part of the past, present and future of the ensemble, include Peter Adriaansz, Gerald Barry, Ed Bennett, Linda Buckley, Séan Clancy, Ann Cleare, Tansy Davies, Donnacha Dennehy, Roger Doyle, Amanda Feery, Michael Gordon, Andrew Hamilton, David Lang, Paul Lansky, Kate Moore, Nico Muhly, Naomi Pinnock, Kevin Volans and Julia Wolfe.

The compositions featured in Crashlands were premiered by Crash Ensemble in a series of rural locations scattered across Ireland - watch Crashlands: The Documentary below:

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Marty In The Morning, RTÉ lyric fm, Monday to Friday, 7 - 10am - listen back here.