The wait is over! RTÉ Radio 1 has announced the ten stories on the shortlist for this year's RTÉ Radio 1 Short Story Competition in honour of Francis MacManus, selected from over 2000 entries.

The shortlisted writers and their stories are:

Mel O'Doherty – The Planters

Sheila Barrett – News

Tríona Walsh – Salt 

Niamh Heery – Filling in Blanks

Deirdre Roycroft – Toby, Toby, Toby 

Stephen O’Reilly – Honey Days

Niall McArdle – Vena Amoris 

Liz Houchin – The Boxer Rebellion

Edward Melvin Out the Pontoon Road

Stephen Walsh – WonderHouse (Some Assembly Required)

The shortlisted writers, based in Dublin, Cork, Wicklow and Galway, range from widely published authors to emerging writers making their debut in fiction, and include a filmmaker, a story editor in kids’ TV and animation, and an agency creative.

On Tuesday 10 September 2019, at an awards evening in RTÉ, the top three winning stories from this shortlist will be announced by judges Sinéad Crowley, Liz Nugent and Declan Meade, and their authors will be presented with prizes of €3000, €2000 and €1000.  

All ten stories will then be broadcast in the Book on One slot on RTÉ Radio 1, read by some of Ireland’s leading actors, including Emmet Kirwan, Jane Brennan, Ali White, Andrew Bennett and Eamon Morrissey, at 11.20pm weeknights, starting with the winning story on Monday 16 September.