The shortlist for this year's RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Album of the Year 2018, in association with IMRO & IRMA, was announced today on RTÉ 2FM’s Tracy Clifford Show by Tony Clayton-Lea, chairman of this year's judging panel.

The winning album will be announced at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event, held in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 7th March and broadcast live on RTÉ 2FM in a special four-hour extended show from 7.00pm to 11.00pm. A special television programme of the event will be broadcast shortly afterwards on RTÉ2.

Listen to all of the shortlisted records below, via Spotify:

The Academic

The Academic - Tales From The Backseat (ROOM6 Records)


Delorentos - True Surrender (Delo Records)

Just Mustard

Just Mustard – Wednesday (Pizza Pizza Records)


Kojaque - Deli Daydreams (Soft Boy Records)

O Emperor

O Emperor - Jason (Big Skin Records)

Lisa O’Neill

Lisa O’Neill - Heard A Long Gone Song (River Lea Recordings)

Saint Sister

Saint Sister - Shape Of Silence (self released)

Rejjie Snow

Rejjie Snow - Dear Annie (BMG)


Villagers - The Art Of Pretending To Swim (Domino Recording Co)

Wyvern Lingo

Wyvern Lingo - Wyvern Lingo (Ruby Works)