Saturday, 13 August

TG4 All-Ireland Junior football final replay

Antrim v Fermanagh, 5pm


Live coverage on TG4


Another hot, mostly sunny and dry day tomorrow with highest temperatures reaching 26 to 31 degrees. Some cloud will bubble up in the afternoon and there is a slight chance of an isolated thundershower developing also.

Both Antrim and Fermanagh have named unchanged starting teams as they look ahead to tomorrow's TG4 All-Ireland Junior football final replay at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh.

For the first time since 2017, the destination of the West County Hotel Cup will be decided by a replay, with both management teams opting for a 'same again' approach.

The sides fought out 1-13 apiece draw at Croke Park on 31 July, but this replay will be decided on the day, with extra-time and potentially free-kicks from the 25m line, if necessary.

Five years ago, in Clones, Fermanagh were also involved, and they got the better of Derry to win this title for the very first time.

Since then, the Erne County have been regular finalists, losing out to Louth in 2019 before defeating Wicklow in 2020.

For Antrim, redemption following last year’s Final loss to Wicklow is still within their grasp but they’ll have to work hard for it.

Antrim captain Cathy Carey, left, and Fermanagh captain Molly McGloin

The Saffrons had scored two previous victories over Fermanagh in the Ulster Championship prior to the sides meeting in the All-Ireland decider, but needed Orlaith Prenter’s late free for a second bite of the cherry.

It was a fixture that showcased the scoring prowess of Prenter, Maria O’Neill and Grainne McLaughlin on the Antrim side, while captain Cathy Carey also chipped in with two points.

For Fermanagh, Bláithín Bogue was simply outstanding with seven points from play, while Eimear Smyth added 1-3, including a crucial penalty goal.

Ahead of throw-in on Saturday, Eimear starts on a haul of 5-20, 11 points adrift of leader Mo Nerney from Laois in the race for the Golden Boot award.

Antrim: A McCann; D Coleman, A McFarland, N McIntosh; M Mulholland, S Tennyson, S O’Neill; L Dahunsi, Á Tubridy; C Taggart, C Carey (capt.), M O’Neill; B Devlin, O Prenter, G McLaughlin.

Fermanagh: R Gleeson; E Keenan, M McGloin (capt.), S McQuade; N McManus, S McCarville, C Bogue; B Bannon, A O’Brien; E Maguire, B Bogue, S Britton; C McElroy, E Smyth, L Grew.