Connacht and Munster have both been able to welcome back key players for Friday's crucial BKT United Rugby Championship interprovincial match at the Sportsground.

The hosts can draft captain Jack Carty into their side for the first time this season, after he missed the opening three rounds due to his summer wrist surgery.

Munster also bring back an international from injury, with Gavin Coombes coming in at number 8, partnering Peter O'Mahony and Jack O'Donoghue in what looks like being a first choice back row.

Jean Kleyn has been passed fit having come through the return to play protocols for concussion, joining Tadhg Beirne in the second row, while the front row of Dave Kilcoyne, Nill Scannell and Keynan Knox is unchanged from last week's win against Zebre.

Joey Carbery makes a rare start at full-back, with Munster's backline options stretched due to injuries for Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Mike Haley and Simon Zebo. Academy pair Patrick Campbell and Conor Phillips continue on the wings, having impressed at Musgrave Park a week ago.

The final change sees Conor Murray come in for his first start of the season, partnering Ben Healy in the half-backs, while Dan Goggin and Malakai Fekitoa retain their place in the centre.

For Connacht, Carty's return is one of five changes from the defeat to the Bulls a week ago.

David Hawkshaw, who started at out-half last week, moves into the centre where he joins Byron Ralston, as Tom Farrell and Tom Daly drop out, with Daly named among the replacements.

Conor Fitzgerald comes in at full-back, in place of Oran McNulty, while John Porch and ack Hansen continue on the wings.

Up front, Dave Heffernan, Denis Buckley and Finlay Bealham start once again, while Gavin Thornbury returns to the centre to partner Oisin Dowling.

New signing Shamus Hurley-Langton gets his first start of the season at blindside flanker, while Jarrad Butler and Conor Oliver complete the line-up.

Connacht: Conor Fitzgerald; John Porch, Byron Ralston, David Hawkshaw, Mack Hansen; Jack Carty (capt), Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Dave Heffernan, Finlay Bealham; Gavin Thornbury, Oisin Dowling; Shamus Hurley-Langton, Conor Oliver, Jarrad Butler.

Replacements: Grant Stewart, Peter Dooley, Jack Aungier, Niall Murray, Josh Murphy, Colm Reilly, Tom Daly, Paul Boyle.

Munster: Joey Carbery; Conor Phillips, Malakai Fekitoa, Dan Goggin, Patrick Campbell; Ben Healy, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Keynan Knox; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Jack O'Donoghue, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Edwin Edogbo, Jack O’Sullivan, Craig Casey, Rory Scannell, Fionn Gibbons.

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple Podcasts, Soundcloud, Spotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Watch live coverage of Leinster v Cell C Sharks (Saturday 8 October, 5.05pm) on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player.

Listen to live commentary of Connacht v Munster (Friday 7 October, 7.35pm) on RTÉ Radio 1 Extra.