Robbie Henshaw and Dorothy Wall claimed the major honours at this year's Zurich Irish Rugby Players Awards.

Henshaw was named Men's Players’ Player of the Year for the first time, while Munster back row Wall was chosen by her team-mates as their Player of the Year for 2021, as well as Young Player of the Year.

Leinster centre Henshaw had been nominated alongside Munster's Tadhg Beirne, Ulster's Iain Henderson and Connacht's Tom Daly.

The 28-year-old had starred for Ireland in the Six Nations, while also starting all three Tests on the British and Irish Lions Tour of South Africa.

"The 2020/21 campaign will always stand out in my mind because the circumstances under which we played were so unique," Henshaw said.

"I'm hugely honoured to win this award but I think the wider rugby community also deserve great credit for how they kept the show on the road to give players like Tadhg, Tom, Iain and I the opportunity to go out to play for club and country."

Munster's Gavin Coombes was named Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year following his breakthrough campaign with Munster, holding off competition from his Munster teammate Craig Casey and Leinster's Hugo Keenan and Scott Penny.

Dorothy Wall claimed 2021 Zurich Women's Players’ Player of the Year and Whoop Young Player of the Year

Wall (above) claimed both major women's awards, having been nominated alongside Beibhinn Parsons and Stacey Flood in both categories.

"We've had a tough year on and off the field but I’ve taken great delight in how the team has performed in recent weeks and great hope in what we stand to achieve as a group in time to come," the 21-year-old said.

"We have great quality in the squad, not least in my fellow nominees Eimear (Considine), Stacey (Flood) and Béibhinn. While we failed to continue in the form that we finished out the 2020/21 season with, the experience of the past few months will only stand to us in the longer term."

Listen to the RTÉ Rugby podcast on Apple Podcasts, Soundcloud, Spotify or wherever you get your podcasts.

Follow Leinster v Connacht (Friday 7.45pm) via our live blog on RTÉ.ie/sport and the RTÉ News app or listen to the inter-pro derby on RTÉ Radio 1 Extra.