Fourth seed David Ferrer and home favourite Jo-Wilfried Tsonga were both straight-sets winners as they advanced to the third round of the French Open on Wednesday.

Ferrer, elevated into the top four seeds by Andy Murray's withdrawal, does not have anything like the same profile as those above him and found himself out on Court Two for his match against fellow Spaniard Albert Montanes.

Montanes won his first title for almost three years in Nice last week but proved no obstacle to Ferrer's hopes of reaching a first grand slam final, the 31-year-old winning 6-2 6-1 6-3.

Ferrer next meets another Spaniard, Feliciano Lopez, who defeated Portugal's Joao Sousa in four sets today.

Tsonga held two match points against Novak Djokovic in the quarter-finals last year before going on to lose in five sets and is the home nation's main hope 30 years after Yannick Noah won the title.

He had a tougher time against Jarkko Nieminen - who, 12 months ago, was the man at the other end of the court during Murray's back dramas - but came through 7-6 (8/6) 6-4 6-3. 

Tsonga, whose description of Nieminen was "as sure as a Swiss clock", said: "I'm French, it's in France and of course there may be a bit more pressure, but for me it's positive.

"It's positive pressure, because I have everything to win and I would say nothing to lose. If I lose the second round or third round, that's it. What happens after that?

"But if I go far in this tournament or if I win, it's going to be something huge. I have to play every match, I have to concentrate. But, at this stage of the tournament, I'm playing good tennis."

Poor weather on Tuesday meant there were a number of first-round matches still to play.

Eighth seed Janko Tipsarevic was a 6-2 7-6 (7/4) 6-1 winner over Frenchman Nicolas Mahut while another home player, 24th seed Benoit Paire, finished off an entertaining four-set win over Marcos Baghdatis that had been called off last night.

Tenth seed Marin Cilic, 23rd seed Kevin Anderson and 25th seed Jeremy Chardy were among the second-round winners.