Seven of Ireland's Tokyo 2020 Olympic swimmers will be among the 11-strong Irish team leaving for the FINA World Short Course Championships in Abu Dhabi this weekend.

Jack McMillan, Mona McSharry, Shane Ryan and Daniel Wiffen set new Irish records in Tokyo and will be hoping to bring their summer form to the short course event.

The championships run from 16 December to 21 December and Olympians Danielle Hill, Brendan Hyland, Finn McGeever, Ellen Walshe, McMillan, McSharry and Wiffen joined by Calum Bain, Niamh Coyne, Robert Powell and Jordan Sloan.

Jon Rudd, Swim Ireland’s National Performance Director, said: "The World Short Course Championships is always an exciting event and the culmination of the short course (25m pool) season on the swimming calendar, with this season usually recognised as the September to December period each year.

"This is an exciting team, which features most of our recent Tokyo Olympians, amongst others with strong hopes and ambitions for the Olympic cycle ahead.

"We have some very notable Irish short course racing results from these athletes at recent events in Ireland, England and the USA (in both 25 metre and 25 yard pools) and how these now transfer to a major Championships on a World stage will be very interesting to see.

"Unfortunately, Shane Ryan will not be part of the team this time whilst he recovers from a shoulder operation, something which we all agreed should take place well in advance of the 2022 summer benchmark meets, and we wish him all the very best for his rehabilitation programme in the weeks to come."